5 Star State Certification Program

Last updated March 23, 2021.

Downloadable guidance (1/21/2021): EspañolTiếng Việt | 中文 | Soomaali | العربية

Someone disinfects surface

What is the 5 Star State Certification Program?

The 5 Star State Certification is a program set up at the county or municipality level through an administrative committee who is responsible for developing, implementing and overseeing the program. It encourages businesses to implement safety measures beyond what is already required by public health orders and guidelines that will help slow the spread of COVID-19. In doing so, businesses will be able to accelerate their reopening. Depending on where their county or municipality falls on the COVID-19 dial, certified businesses are eligible for less restrictive capacity caps. 5 Star certification reassures employees and customers that businesses are adhering to enhanced guidance. The program is completely voluntary and also serves as an expanding directory of establishments recognized for their efforts to keep their communities safe and open.

Fast facts

 The 5 Star State Certification Program enables businesses that meet enhanced safety guidelines in qualifying counties and municipalities to open at greater capacity.

 The voluntary program recognizes businesses that have gone above and beyond to keep their communities safe. 

 Each county or municipality can decide whether to implement the 5 Star State Certification program.

Get certified

Each county or municipality must first determine whether or not this program is a good fit for their community. Counties and municipalities that are interested in applying should form an administrative committee, including LPHA representation, members of the community at large, as well as partners like the local Chamber of Commerce, nonprofits, local elected leaders, or industry association members. Administrative committees are also responsible for determining their eligibility based on the following criteria:

  • Qualified LPHA director
  • Metrics 
  • Attestations of support

Apply for the 5 Star Certification Program Application form template 5 Star State Certification funding

Additional resources


5 Star Program Policy in other languages (1/21/2021): EspañolTiếng Việt | 中文 | Soomaali | العربية